Welcome to the Hawaii Gay Flag Football League. Our mission is to promote the positive social and athletic enjoyment of flag football to the LGBT community and beyond.

We are thrilled to be sending 2 Honolulu Riptide teams to Gay Bowl XIX in New York City. Click the image below for more info.

Help the NGFFL raise funds for Gay Bowl XIX in New York City.
Click the button below and make your donation through the Hawaii link.

Our 2019 Season concluded on June 15th.
Images and results below.

6th Place: Ours Is The Furry
5th Place: We Drink and We Throw Things
4th Place: Cersei’s Slayers of Shame
3rd Place: No Ygrittes
2nd Place: Eight Inches of Snow

A huge thank you to our referees who worked tirelessly to make the right calls every game. What’s next? Gay Bowl XIX preparation and a Beer Bust at Bacchus Waikiki on September 22nd. Check out our Facebook page for information on these and other events.

Below is a matrix of our 2019 sponsors. Click on the logo to learn about them.

Links to photos, news, and info from the Hawaii Gay Flag Football League:

2019 · Championship Party

Thanks to all who came out to celebrate at the end-of-season Championship Party at Scarlet Honolulu on Saturday, June 22! There were cocktails, surprises and an all-around great time - and more joy for those who stayed later to see Alaska Thunderfuck’s performance! Here’s how it all went down:

HIGFFL Commissioner Dayne Nishio began the ceremony with a welcome and reiteration of the league’s mission. He listed the superlative accomplishments of the season including 6 teams, 84 registered players including 14 women and congratulated the board for a great year. Vice Commissioner Gan Jin then thanked each and every season sponsor of the league—we couldn’t have done it without them! There were thank yous to the referees and the team captains as well!

Board member-at-large Jeff Hatterman then invited the team captains to announce their team spirit award winners. Each captain gave the rationale and heartfelt reasons as to why the individuals were chosen. Congratulations to Billy Ray Davis, Brad Galima, Dean Watase, Dimitri McIntosh, Tim Sunia, and Sirron Bowman.

The Championship team Born To Be Wildlings then accepted their team medals, then the season individual player awards nominees were announced and medals were distributed to the winners. Congratulations to all who participated in the HIGFFL 2019 League Season.

Rookie of the Year: Alex Simpson; Newcomer of the Year: Aaron Thomas; Most Improved Player: Davin Park; MVP Defense: Jon Dent; MVP Offense: Tim Sunia; 2019 League MVP: Paige McMahan. Here are some photos from the ceremony (thank you to Alex Simpson).

The board election results: new board members, serving a 2-year term are (in alphabetical order): Ty Law, Butch Merideth, and Kristen Nakamura. Upcoming events include; continued Open Play (scrimmages) at Kapiolani Park on Saturdays at 10:30am; Pau Hana Beer Bust, July 5th, 4-9PM at Bacchus Waikiki; Honolulu Riptide team tryouts for Gay Bowl XIX in NYC, TBA.